Classification of Gears

Gears are broadly classified into three types,

  1. Parallel shaft gears
  2. Intersecting shaft gears
  3. Non parallel non intersecting shaft gears

1.Parallel shaft gears

  • Spur gear
  • Helical gear
  • Rack and pinion

2.Intersecting shaft gears

  • Bevel gear-Straight bevel, Spiral bevel, Hypoid bevel

3.Non parallel non intersecting shaft gears

  • Spiral gear
  • Worm gear



Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

All newly proposed concepts/methods/techniques are property of respective contributor and Any content from third party are property of respective third party, governed by third parties legal information, published here with third party's grant and are available only for reference purpose.


Privacy & Cookie Policy | Terms of Use | User Content Policy | Report Problem/Bug/Abuse | FAQ | Contact us

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?